Almond crumble and coconut muffin

by DotInDaisies

IMG_5201

There’s just something about baking that I love. I don’t know if it’s the sweet fragrance of melted chocolate, the beauty of creaming butter and sugar, or the fun in snacking on whatever there is I can get my hands on. Whatever it is, I just love it. Despite a full time enrollment in a psychology course at my university, with loads of projects due that are screaming for my attention, I still wouldn’t give up my very own Sunday when I’m crammed in my tiny little kitchen, lost and unreachable to the world.

IMG_5093

Yet, judging from the overwhelming pile of work that is starting to form, I think it’s about time I get my priorities straight. And so, I vowed to dedicate this whole day to studying. I promised myself that I’ll do some revision, prepare for my English presentation and watch some movies for my Industrial Psychology class.

30 minutes into my revision.. I once again found myself in the kitchen with hands greased in butter and hair cached in sugar.

IMG_5095

It’s settled. My priorities are straight. Today I’m experimenting with muffins. This type of quick breads is my favorite go-to breakfast. It’s easy to bake and simply to die for when paired with a good cup of coffee. Some people prefer their muffins moist and light, I like mine wholesome and good to the grains. And just because I happen to have spelt flour, desiccated coconut and a bag of almonds in my pantry, those will be the shinning stars of my recipe.

IMG_5186

To be honest I experimented with this recipe twice. The first time I tried baking it, I could barely trace any hint of coconut. I guess the other ingredients just outshined it and so I ended up adding twice more the second time round. The result is mouthwatering. The additional half a cup of dessicated coconut is just right. Not too over empowering nor minimizing, And before putting them in the oven, I sprinkled the batter over with some almond crumble for a flaky crunch to give the muffins an extra texture.

This almond crumble and coconut muffin recipe is full of nuttiness. It’s great for a breakfast option and even better as an afternoon snack with “a cuppa tea”  🙂

IMG_5194

Almond crumble and coconut muffins
(Adapted from Baking: From my homes to yours, by Dorie Greenspan.)
makes 12

Crumble topping
80g all purpose flour
80g ground almonds
80g sugar
80g ice-cold butter

Muffin
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 cup desiccated coconut
1/3 cup spelt flour
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
1/3 cup honey
2 eggs
113 g butter, melted and cooled
1 1/4 cup diced almonds

To make crumble topping
1. Combine all purpose flour, ground almonds, granulated sugar and cut in ice-cold butter with a pastry blender until the mixture resembles coarse cornmeal.

To make muffins
1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees C. Spray 12 muffin molds with cooking spray.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together all purpose flour, spelt flour, desiccated coconut, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt, set aside.
3. In another bowl, whisk together butter milk, honey, eggs and melted butter.
4. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and whisk until just well combined.
5. Stir in any dried fruits or nuts (optional).
6. Divide batter evenly into each muffin mold.
7. Bake for 18-20 minutes (mine took 18 mins) or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.
8.Transfer pan to rack and let cool for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, remove from pan and left on rack to cool completely.

