Isao: Bangkok’s famous Japanese fusion.

by DotInDaisies

IMG_5717
Isao is a Japanese fusion restaurant in Bangkok that is tucked away in the middle of soi Sukhumvit 31. This cozy sushi place has a reputation that exceeds its small size. Tables are usually fully booked so if you happen to instantly crave for their famous sushi sandwich or Jackie roll, you can either prepare to queue up for 30 minutes to an hour (been there, done that) or take my advice and make a reservation. I promise you won’t regret it.
IMG_3117IMG_5725 Isao is famous for their sushi rolls. Their salads and a-la-carte menus are very good as well but every time I’m here I only have my eyes on the rolls. Even before seeing the menu, I knew right away what I wanted to order. Their signatures include the noteworthy sushi sandwich, which is spicy salmon and tuna sandwiched in-between crispy tempura rice, crisp and so full of flavors. Jackie, which is sushi roll shaped into a caterpillar filled with avocado, fish roe crispy tempura, and finally wrapped with rice, seaweed and meaty shrimp. My favorite is crunchy, which is similar to sushi sandwich but is served with a special Japanese sweet sauce. Another of my favorites is winter, which consisted of crab meat, carrots, radish and wrapped with Japanese cucumber topped with crisp daikon, a very light and refreshing mouthful
IMG_5715Now I have to warn you, last time I was here, I decided to order salad and fool myself into thinking that I was having a guilt-free lunch. However, I soon realize that just because a dish has the word “salad” in it doesn’t mean that it comes with leafy green lettuce or cabbage. Isao’s spicy salmon salad consists of spicy salmon, avocado, sesame seeds and special cream sauce, which is good nonetheless. If you’re looking for something greener, go for House salad, which comes with healthy looking greens and a homemade sweet and sour dressing, also another of my favorite!IMG_5722At Isao, there’s more than meets the eye: a special item not included in the menu. See..now I have your attention. Lava maki is consisted of avocado, crispy tempura, shrimp, topped with long sliced salmon and lava sauce. The dish comes with 5 pieces of maki. Next time you’re there, just ask one of the waitresses for the dish; they’ll know which “lava maki” you’re talking about.
IMG_5730All in all, this Japanese fusion restaurant is one of my most favorite sushi places in Bangkok. Everytime I leave, I always come back wanting for more. It’s not a bizaare thing for me to wake up one day craving myself some sandwich sushi and crispy crunchy rolls. If you come here, you might just know what I’m talking about. Gosh..just writing about it is making me drool.

Isao
5 Sukhumvit 31, Watthana, Bangkok 10110 
‎Tel: 02 258 0645

