Singapore Food Adventure (P.1): All About Dim Sum

by DotInDaisies

IMG_5857
So I finally got around to rearranging my photos from Singapore. The trip that is wholly dedicated to the satisfaction of the stomach and one that I had the pleasure of going on with a few of my favorite people, Ploy, House, and his friend, Wen. I took tons of pictures on this trip (probably more than 1,000) but because of everyone’s hunger and minimal patience, most of the shots I took may show the food as less mouthwatering than it actually is. I guess you just have to take my word for it when I say that the dish is OH SO GOOD or FANTASTIC even with not much evidence.
IMG_5893IMG_5897
Last time I told someone about my five days, fours nights trip to Singapore, I was told about how much I’ll get bored after three days and how there isn’t really much to do in Singapore except the extravagant shopping on Orchard road. NOT TRUE (true for the extravagant shopping part, how can there be so many mega malls on one street?!). Five days are simply not enough to fully explore this gastronomic city. Sure if you’re only interested on shopping and going on rides at Universal Studio I say two days are plenty. BUT. If you are a foodie and looking to go completely guilt-free on an oversea trip with good friends, spare yourself a good 5-6 days. Singapore may be a small island but its food scene is anything but. Last time I googled “What to eat in Singapore’s Maxwell Food Center,” I was advised to go try out any stalls because everything is just downright delicious (a bad stall wouldn’t last long and would go out of business). My only advice is not to expect smiles and hospitality from Singaporeans.  You might have a whole different experience with them, but as far as I know, friendly is not the word to describe my experience.

So here is the first part of my food adventure in Singapore.

IMG_5850
Yan Ting
Even before landing, I knew that I wanted to have dim sum for my first lunch in Singapore. But with so many places with good reviews, it’s hard to settle on just one. Yan Ting Restaurant at St. Regis was seriously one of the best meals I’ve had throughout my whole trip. House and Wen were already in Singapore for a couple of days and weren’t joining us for lunch. Instead, Wen insisted that Ploy and I come to Yan Ting for a dim sum lunch and recommended ordering the roasted pork (top picture), an advice that we gratefully took with no regrets.
IMG_5888IMG_5864IMG_5891
We also ordered the black truffle shumai, steamed salted egg yolk buns, broccoli with crabmeat and xiao long bao. Apart from what we ordered, the waiter also served us pickled eggplant to start, which we thought was a pumpkin. Don’t you think it looks like a pumpkin? So everything I tasted was exceptionally good but the roasted pork and black truffle shumai was by far my favorites. The crisp skin of the pork and its soft under layer gradually melted in my mouth and the black truffle shumai was just loaded with so much shrimp giving each bite a soft springy bounce. Oh and in case you’re wondering, the steamed salted egg yolk buns tasted as good as it is picture perfect.
IMG_5873
IMG_6646
Tim Ho Wan
On our last day in Singapore, Ploy and I came to Tim Ho Wan-the world’s cheapest Michelin stared restaurant-for brunch, praying that by the time we got there the queue would magically disappear and we would stride in and enjoy our meal without the long wait. How naïve we were. Judging from the number of people queuing up, we were in for at least a 30 minutes wait. BUT. Luck was definitely on our side. Since we were a party of two, we got to cut queue and waited for only 10 minutes! Yay!
IMG_6659IMG_6657IMG_6675
We ordered three of the Big 4 Heavenly Kings, which are the signature dishes at the restaurant: the steamed egg cake, baked bun with BBQ pork, and pan-fried carrot cake. We also ordered the prawn dumpling, bean curd skin roll with pork and shrimp, dumpling teochew style, vermicelli roll with shrimp, and vermicelli roll with beef. Yup. All that for just two girls with VERY big appetite.
IMG_6669IMG_6664
All the dumplings, rolls and the pan-fried carrot cake were good but not a WOW factor. However, two of the Big 4 Heavenly Kings certainly live up to its name. At first I was skeptical about the steamed egg cake, looking at the picture, the cake looks…to be honest like an ordinary sponge cake. But when I bit into this cake, it was clear why it’s crowned as one of the heroes at the restaurant. The cake was extremely light and fluffy in texture. There was a tiny hint of brown sugar, which I love. Definitely one of my favorite items on the menu. Now the baked bun with BBQ pork is another story. I’ve heard so much about this baked buns that I made a priority to try it before I leave. One of the greatest decisions I’ve made, YET! The bun has a crisp outer texture with soft sweet BBQ pork filling that is simply to die for. I love love love this bun. Did I say I love this bun? I love it. I would definitely go back to Singapore for another taste of this delicious BBQ pork bun.
IMG_6677IMG_6681

Yan Ting
29 Tanglin Rd, Singapore 247911
Tel:+65 6506 6866
Mon – Sun : 12:oo – 14:30, 18:30 – 22:30

Tim Ho Wan
01-29A/52, Plaza Singapura, 68 Orchard Road
Tel: +65 62512000
Mon – Fri: 10:00 – 22:00
Sat, Sun & Public Holidays: 09:00 – 22:00

