Singapore Food Adventure (P.3): Jaan

by DotInDaisies

IMG_6508
So I’ve been thinking what makes something “delicious.” A McCheeseburger is delicious. Bon Chon’s deep-fried chicken is delicious. Even the papaya salad around my neighborhood is delicious. Whatever I eat, I take pleasure in. But then once in a while I come across a restaurant that the three syllables word, “delicious,” wouldn’t simply do the food justice. A restaurant that serves dishes that makes me just want to keep eating like there’s no tomorrow. Like my stomach is just a black hole with no end.
IMG_6515
Jaan at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore is such restaurant. Even though I’ve heard and read countless great reviews about Chef Julien Royer’s fine cuisine, none really prepare me for what I was about to experience.

The restaurant’s interior is simple, a small room, longer than wide, with glass panels exposing the breathtaking view of Marina Bay sands. The ceiling seems to be the only prominent decoration with its green metallic geometric design. The restaurant only holds 40 diners, so reservation is highly recommended.
IMG_6509
Ploy and I went for lunch at Jaan on our fourth and final full day in Singapore. When we got there the door to the restaurant was still close and we were the first customers to go in. Our waiter told us we got the best seat in the house, right by the window with the panoramic view of the city landscape and harbor.

We chose to go with the five-course degustation lunch set ( 3041 B ++ ), which includes a choice of coffee or tea at the end of the course.

Okay guys. Be prepared  to witness something special, exquisite paintings on a plate, too beautiful to devour but too attractive to not to.
IMG_6521IMG_6517
We started off with a little amuse bouche that comes in between each course like a surprise gift. The first  amuse bouche comes in the form of mini appetizers-Chicken Pastillas with marsala and coriander yogurt, Black Sesame Sponge with Danish eel and Walnut Cracker with cantal cheese-on a platter along with rye crackers served with hummus dip in a jar. A perfect starter to warm up our taste buds. And just when I thought the first course would come, along came another amuse bouche, Cepes Sabayon, or what the waiter referred to as “mushroom tea.” This is no ordinary mushroom soup, first sip and I was swooned, swept off my feet, who knew mushroom soup could have such an effect?
IMG_6525IMG_6527Then along came four bread selections. I chose to go with the onion brioche, rye sour dough, and walnut and raisin bread (ate it before I realize I didn’t took a picture). Yep. Couldn’t made up my mind so I went with three. My favorite is the onion brioche. So so soft and buttery with just a tang of onion, so so good.IMG_6530Now moving on to our first course, Quail and Foie Gras Duo, which came looking so pretty and pink. To be honest, I was happy with this dish, it was good. The meat was tender and I was completely happy to be eating it. But this did not prepare me for what about to come.
IMG_6541
Next up was the Winter Garden, which is a mirror image of its name. When this dish was served, Ploy and I both looked at one other, confused, not knowing how to start. Winter garden looks perfectly green and well-executed. As pretty as it was, HOW DO I EAT THIS THING?

But once started, there was no turning back. I was blown away. This dish was amazing. Every bite was a new experience. The crunchiness from the hazelnut, the soft and light texture from the parsley sponge just sparked up fireworks in my mouth. No joke.
IMG_6544
IMG_6546
Our second course was Confit Rainbow Trout with kagoshima pork, cauliflower and miso caramel, which came looking like an ordinary piece of salmon filet. How wrong I was. This was no ordinary salmon. Seriously as I sliced through the fish, the knife just went through, with no exertion from my part. It was a melt-in-your-mouth kinda experience. And the kagoshima pork hidden beneath the rainbow trout gave the dish an extra flavor and crunch. This was like no fish I ever had. Definitely set the standard for my subsequent experience with fishes.
IMG_6561So when it was time for our fourth course, my pants were starting to feel tighter around my waist. But who cares. I was excited and so ready for my next firework.
IMG_6578
Our fourth course was roasted Venison Loin, which is the finest piece of deer meat, served with celeriac, mulled wine pear, and poivrade sauce. The meat was definitely very tender and cooked to perfection. Duh. There was a hint of sweetness from the poached pear and citrus fruit that gave the meat an extra flavor. So good. So so good.
IMG_6584
Next came the Truffle Brie de Meaux, a.k.a truffle ice-cream. served with hazelnut crunch. Three words, eight letters. To Die For. Where can I get a quart of this? Too bad it came in such a small portion but I guess there was a reason for that. Yeah dessert(s) were up next.

Oh before dessert, we were asked if we wanted to have the special cheese plate and unsurprisingly, I said yes. Who could say no to cheese?
IMG_6587
IMG_6589
Next up we were surprised yet again with another amuse bouche, this time a pre-dessert, blood orange granita and grapefruit foam. Very light and refreshing. Perfect for cleansing our palate.
IMG_6605
So you know how they say the ending is the most important part of every story? Well this dessert was my epic ending. There’re no exact word to describe the taste of this Choconut tart. It was the perfect blend of taste, texture, and temperature. I took a bite. It tasted great. Very rich with different textures of the best quality chocolates. I took a second bite. I could taste cold chocolate mousse in complimentary with a slight crunch from the nuts and caramel. Each bite was different. Purely magical.
IMG_6608
That was our last course but of course, just when we thought the meal was over, out came our final amuse bouche, the petit fours, which consisted of chocolate rosemary lollipops, soft marshmallow with raspberry jelly, and chocolate clusters, to be enjoyed with a cup of coffee or tea. At the end, we tried to savor each and every bite as long as possible, wanting the entire experience to last. But like all good things, this too has its ending.

On a ten-point scale, I would give Jaan a 9.8. The food (as I have bragged and bragged) was that amazing. The service was great. One of the staff there was Thai and she came over to talk to us, giving us her name card for special reservation in the future. Overall, my experience at Jaan was definitely one of the best dining experience I’ve ever had. I look forward to coming back here in the future and being blown away by more of Chef Julien’s creative masterpieces.

Jaan Restaurant at Swissotel The Stamford
Lunch : 12:00 – 14:00
Sunday and public holidays: closed

Dinner:
Monday to Sunday: 19.00 – 22.00
Public holidays: closed

For Reservations:
For online reservations:
Phone: +65 6837 3322
Email: reservations@equinoxcomplex.com

